[Last Film I Saw] Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010)

Prince Of Persia - The Sands Of Time  poster

Title: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time
Year: 2010
Country: USA
Language: English
Genre: Action, Adventure
Director: Mike Newell
Writers: Boaz Yakin, Doug Miro
Music: Harry Gregson-Williams
Cinematography: John Seale
Cast:
Jake Gyllenhaal
Gemma Arterton
Ben Kingsley
Alfred Molina
Steve Toussaint
Toby Kebbell
Richard Coyle
Gisli Orn Garoarsson
Rating: 4.8/10

Saw this one from a IMAX screen in the multiplex cinema in Perugia, I was impressed not only by the grand scale of the cinema, also the impossibility to reach there unless I have a car. No buses or the SUPER-MINIMETRO are nearby (I walked for 20 minutes to reach the nearest minimetro station). What a pity, otherwise I would definitely visit it more often.

About this film, as I am definitely no video-game fan, I’m indifferent to the fact of where this film is adapted from. My interest is to see how Disney produces a summer-pop-corn-Hollywood-blockbuster. The outcome is that this film is just so-so, with the special effects (SFs) creating no surprises, even a little bit shabby, I have to say THAT DOESN’T IMPRESS ME MUCH.

Let’s talk about actors, Jake is on his way to become a superstar, which is no doubt, so POP is his touchstone, but no personal charisma could be empathized from Prince Dastan if compared to Depp as Captain Jack (Ok, the muscular hot body is the only exception). Thus Jake still needs a little more patience and the deposits of time to show his unique charm. As For Gemma, I have nothing to say, the role is weak and unimpressive (although I think she is not so attractive with the bizarre costumes), Kingsley and Molina both do a good supporting roles in a blockbuster summer bomb.

Btw, I watched the whole film in Italian and without any subtitles, which caused a little bit trouble to understand what actually happened (but does it matter?), nevertheless the film is enjoyable with too many cliches, I could literally tell what will happen even without knowing the storyline (i.e. the death of the king, or the death of that poor black fighter, a look-familiar Steve Toussaint), one thing I don’t quite comprehend is the technical usage of the dagger and the sands, which bothered me while watching the film (maybe BOTHER is a word too serious here).

With age-growing, I find myself more and more immune to the high-budget and eye-bombing Hollywood blockbusters, perhaps I am also excluded from their main targets (wow, what a relief). So come on! Here comes the next generation who can genuinely enjoy themselves from these films and I am officially retired!

Leave a Reply

