[Last Film I Saw] (500) Days of Summer (2009)

(500) Days of Summer poster

Title: (500) Days of Summer
Year: 2009
Country: USA
Language: English
Genre: Romance
Director: Marc Webb
Writers: Scott Neustadter, Michael H. Weber
Cast:
Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Zooey Deschanel
Chloë Grace Moretz
Geoffrey Arend
Clark Gregg
Matthew Gray Gubler
Rachel Boston
Minka Kelly
Rating: 8.2/10

It’s an simply she is not that into him comedy. Before watching the film, I cannot stop thinking that what makes this highly-praised indie film of 2009 so unique as its synopsis sounds really banal. Nevertheless after I finish the film, I do love it from the bottom of my heart and it turns out quite educational for most lovers as well.

In order to make this ultra-predictable story more delicious and attractive, director Marc Webb has offered us multiple levels of distractions, including the whole random narrative order, the reality/expectation split-screen shots and even animations, which shows that the team behind do esteem their audiences. I think it is also an important reason why Marc has been selected as the director of the upcoming Spider Man IV, as he knows very well how to please the audience and respect them at the same time.

Also the success of this film is largely owing to two protagonists’ wonderful performances, especially for Joseph, I would give him an Oscar nomination if I was could, unfortunately the Academy members generally overlook this kind of light films. The chemistry between Joseph and Zooey are amazing and sincere, as if they just revert themselves to their authentic lives, sometimes the effect is heartrending, which was like a mirror, everyone could see himself/herself through the film.

One of my recurring argument is that it is very difficult to find a great script nowadays, which doesn’t mean one could not be able to shoot a great film, “(500) Days of Summer” is a perfect example, even with a totally mundane story with a suspense-free script, if only one is conscientious and determined, he still can make a film unique and enjoyable, I think the esteem towards the massive audience is the main factor, which barely can be found in most of recent films.

 (500) Days of Summer 2009

5 thoughts on “[Last Film I Saw] (500) Days of Summer (2009)

  1. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] The Amazing Spider-Man | A Breathless Trail

  2. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] 50/50 | Bone Picker

  3. Pingback: [Last Time I Saw] Blue Valentine (2010) [7/10] | Cinema Omnivore

  4. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Don Jon (2013) [8/10] | Cinema Omnivore

  5. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) [6/10] | Cinema Omnivore

Leave a Reply

