[Last Time I Saw] Date Night (2010)

Date Night poster

Title: Date Night
Year: 2010
Country: USA
Language: English
Genre: Comedy
Director: Shawn Levy
Writers: Josh Klausner
Music: Christophe Beck
Cinematography: Dean Semler
Cast:
Steve Carell
Tina Fey
Mark Wahlberg
Taraji P. Henson
Jimmi Simpson
Common
Leighton Meester
William Fichtner
Ray Liotta
Mark Ruffalo
Kristen Wiig
James Franco
Mila Kunis
Rating: 5.6/10

As I’m not jaundiced about Hollywood slapstick films, nevertheless the only thing I couldn’t bare is the vulgar taste of humor, but Steve Carell could be an exception, I do enjoy THE 40-YEAR-OLD VIRGIN (2005), which maybe Judd Apatow should take the credit. Compared with other A-List comedy actors, Will Farrell, Seth Rogan, Ben Stiller and Vince Vaughn, Steve stands out easily for me. As for Tina Fey, this is her first film I saw (I have not watched 30 ROCKS because I choose to eschew from Alec Baldwin), her poker face performance is smart, but I am not sure if she should stick to her more promising career as a writer instead of a decent actress since the chemistry between two leads are not so sparkling.

So many surprising big names here like Meester, Franco & Kunis, Ruffalo & Wiig in their cameo roles and Marky Mark is naked in all his scenes, but I have to say, dude, you still look like a monkey, maybe this time is an ape, seriously shirt on! (no offense to all Marky’s fans, oops!)

The story is perfunctory with many plot holes (one example, how and why on earth the real Tripplehorns want to book a table in an expensive restaurant as it seems to me that they are not able to afford it), and I have not expected too much from director Shawn Levy (NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM 1&2 ). However I am quite amused by the set piece of head-to-head-connected car chase and the pole dancing scenes in the club, call me desperate to give it a 5.6/10, nowadays a genuine comedy is so hard to find.

At least the positive message spread from the film itself is appealing to almost everyone, the roommate theory does sound believable and no one can deny that as a couple for a long time, which can consume all the passions, it’s sad but true, a tonguing kiss with physical devotion becomes so rare to appreciate.

2 thoughts on “[Last Time I Saw] Date Night (2010)

  1. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Real Steel « A Breathless Trail

  2. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Real Steel (2011) [7/10] | Cinema Omnivore

Leave a Reply

