[Last Time I Saw] The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Voyage Of The Dawn Treader (2010)

The Chronicles Of Narnia - The Voyage Of The Dawn Treader poster

Title: The Chronicles Of Narnia: The Voyage Of The Dawn Treader
Year: 2010
Country: USA
Language: English
Genre: Adventure
Director: Michael Apted
Writers: Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely
Music: David Arnold
Cinematography: Dante Spinotti
Cast:
Georgie Henley
Skandar Keynes
Ben Barnes
Will Poulter
Gary Sweet
Tilda Swinton
Anna Popplewell
William Moseley
Arabella Morton
Liam Neeson
Simon Pegg
Rating: 5.0/10

I watched this film at Hong Kong IFC cinema, a 3D version by dint of the fact that we will not be able to watch it in mainland China until next January (the opening date of HK is even 8 days earlier than North America).

After the lukewarm box office of Narnia 2 in 2008, the ill-fated third one suddenly became a hot potato, dispatched by Disney and finally taken over by 20th Century Fox, but still it has fail to reach the level of Harry Potter series by a large mile.

Firstly I have to admit that I fell asleep during the film (I cannot remember when was the last time this kind of thing happened), I felt rather guilty for being such an amateur cinephile. I figure that I missed about 15 minutes in the middle section (maybe I should blame it on the uncomfortable 3D glasses).

One thing for sure, this film aims to a younger demography than its precedents. SFX is good but not marvelous, after watching so many fantasy/adventure fables on screen, I doubt that is there anything could open my eyes and blow my mind like Avatar has done it lat year. Seriously, one should not count too much on Narnia series, I think the Christmas time will do good favor to its box office performance as its a family film like Alvin and the Chipmunks series (2007 & 2009), adults may eschew it but the family crowds could be the most potential consumers.

As the 3D fever is at its annex, I think the next move is to improve the glasses, especially for people already with glasses, double pair is rather make me unwell, I survived with Journey to the Center of the Earth (2008), Monsters Vs. Aliens (2009), Avatar (2009), but this time, it undermines my decision to watch another 3D in the future.

All in all, the film doesn’t impress me much and the cast also has little charisma to keep its audience faithful to its fourth work.

Leave a Reply

