[Last Time I Saw] The Ghost Writer (2010)

The Ghost Writer poster

Title: The Ghost Writer
Year: 2010
Country: Germany, French, Britain
Language: English
Genre: Mystery
Director: Roman Polanski
Writers: Robert Harris, Roman Polanski
Music: Alexandre Desplat
Cinematography: Pawel Edelman
Cast:
Ewan McGregor
Pierce Brosnan
Olivia Williams
Kim Cattrall
Tom Wilkinson
James Belushi
Timothy Hutton
Eli Wallach
Jon Bernthal
Rating: 8.3/10

It is hard to believe Roman Polanski is so trustworthy to blow my mind with his new film (under the current of his tedious rape case and jail time), THE GHOST WRITER has just swept 5 awards in 2010 European Film Awards (including BEST FILM, BEST DIRECTOR, BEST ACTOR, BEST SCRIPT), would become another THE PIANIST(2003) ? Anything could happen, right?

I feel extremely shameful to call myself a devotee of Mr. Polanski as I have not seen CHINA TOWN(1974) or TESS(1979), although I thoroughly enjoy ROSEMARY’S BABY (1968) and THE PIANIST. However, his own biography could be much more colorful and soon will be the best time for a film of himself, it will be a hit in my opinion.

Let’s talk about the film itself, the heavily political factor around the story is suspicious enough to imply the British Government, which I will let it alone as it doesn’t interest me much (I’m a Chinese, right?), the most fascinating part of the film is the thriller aura which perfectly matches the environment and the identity of our protagonist, from the blindfold visit, the chase on the ferry, an ominous feeling hovering around all the time, not until the final accident, it is impromptu but not unexpected, at least it gives me some relief, the ending satisfies me very well.

The best performance is from Olivia Williams, I still wonder why she has not get any recognition in the award season,
her final scene renders me some wonderful aftertaste. Ewan McGregor is excellent as usual, it’s a pity his role is a little bit plain; Bronsnan, the former 007 gives a nice turn as an actor-born former prime minister, which I call among his best performances all these years.

I do wish this film could go further in the coming Oscar race, a surprising BEST DIRECTOR nomination should be enough for me, maybe a nomination for Olivia, my current no.1 in BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS.

Oscar 2010 - The Ghost Writer

2 thoughts on “[Last Time I Saw] The Ghost Writer (2010)

  1. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Carnage « A Breathless Trail

  2. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Carnage (2011) [8/10] | Cinema Omnivore

Leave a Reply

