[Last Time I Saw] 3 Idiots (2009)

3 Idiots poster

Title: 3 Idiots
Year: 2009
Country: India
Language: Hindi, Urdu
Genre: Comedy
Director: Rajkumar Hirani
Writers: Vidhu Vinod Chopra, Rajkumar Hirani, Abhijit Joshi, Swanand Kirkire
Cast:
Aamir Khan
Madhavan
Sharman Joshi
Omi Vaidya
Kareena Kapoor
Boman Irani
Mona Singh
Rating: 6.1/10

First of all, I rarely watch Indian films; secondly, I think this highly-praised Indian film is overrated. There is no doubt this film is a quite entertaining one, but nearly nothing special is worth mentioning here, one can easily feel that the director exaggerate to stuff all kinds of popular elements in its 160 minutes (I like the songs though), universities’ educational method, the genuine friendship, money is not the most important item in the world (don’t marry an over-materialized man), a choice between what I want to do and what parents want me to do, blah blah blah….

The film deals with a quite grand topic, the meaning of life, and luckily its scholastic didactics has not reached my threshold of intolerance, as a result I enjoyed most of its screen time, however, my absent-mindedness did come forth several times.

Actually the general principles which the film tried so hard to convey are conventional, everybody knows, what the film achieved is to manifest it in a perfect cinematographic world where everything is too idealized to happen in our mundane world. Lack of empathy and a shoddy script makes the film fade like a forgettable fairytale.

All the characters are stereotyped, the suspenses do not persist long enough and the whole film is skimpy of plausible explanations for most its plots. Still I give a 6/10, an eligible rate, thanks to Aamir Khan’s lovable performance. I don’t think the film represents the highest standard of contemporary Indian films, nevertheless the inconvenient truth is that it failed to encourage me to watch more Indian films at the same time, what else can I do? There are numerous films are waiting in lines for me to watch, I don’t want to waste my very limited time.

Leave a Reply

