[Last Time I Saw] Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (2010)

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World poster

Title: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World
Year: 2010
Country: USA, UK, Canada
Language: English
Genre: Action
Director: Edgar Wright
Writers: Michael Bacall, Edgar Wright, Bryan Lee O’Malley
Music: Nigel Godrich
Cinematography: Bill Pope
Cast:
Michael Cera
Mary Elizabeth Winstead
Ellen Wong
Kieran Culkin
Anna Kendrick
Johnny Simmons
Alison Pill
Mark Webber
Aubrey Plaza
Brie Larson
Chris Evans
Brandon Routh
Jason Schwartzman
Keita Saitou
Shota Saitou
Mae Whitman
Satya Bhabha
Thomas Jane
Clifton Collins Jr.
Rating: 4.7/10

After watched the film, I seem to know why I have no interest in video games at all, I would rather waste my time on anything else. The truth is that I had enjoyed director Edgar Wright’s previous films HOT FUZZ (2007) and SHAUN OF THE DEAD (2004) (both starred with Simon Pegg and Nick Frost).

Love it or hate it, it’s a film eyeing for the geeky culture and the generation of video games, I stand firmly in the opposite of it as I find it tedious (seven ex-bfs? why we have to watch Michael Cera’s ass being kissed multiple times and then he stroke back to knock over his stronger opponents by some gratuitous trickeries?).

Is there anything recommendable I could squeeze? The special effects are dazzling, some dialogues are funny, but not tangible, the whole film is a big disappointment to me, no wonder it underperformed in the box office as well, as its direct target is indoor otaku, whom I am sure prefer staying at home playing video games rather than going to cinemas to watch someone else playing it. Maybe sales of the DVD market is the right strategy.

As for the cast, Michael Cera has been a symbol of man show geeks since JUNO (2007), so there is no real breakthrough here, Mary Elizabeth Winstead is way too cool for a comic role (yes, it just occurred to me the film is an adaption of a comic series), others are fine, not worth mentioning except it was glad to see poor Brandon Routh back in the business.

2 thoughts on “[Last Time I Saw] Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World (2010)

  1. Pingback: [Last Film I Watch] Ant-Man (2015) | Cinema Omnivore

  2. Pingback: [Last Film I Watched] Baby Driver (2017) – Cinema Omnivore

Leave a Reply

