[Last Time I Saw] The Tourist (2010)

The Tourist poster

Title: The Tourist
Year: 2010
Country: USA, France
Language: English, Italian, French, Russian
Genre: Action, Romance
Director: Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
Writers:
Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
Christopher McQuarrie
Music: James Newton Howard
Cinematography: John Seale
Cast:
Angelina Jolie
Johnny Depp
Paul Bettany
Steven Berkoff
Rufus Sewell
Timothy Dalton
Christian De Sica
Alessio Boni
Raoul Bova
Bruno Wolkowitch
Clement Sibony
Rating: 6.5/10

The first foreign film I have watched at a Chinese cinema in 2011, I deliberately selected this in lieu of TRON LEGACY (2010) and THE GREEN HORNET (2011), my own guilty-ridden reason is all because of Venice and Johnny Depp.

Surely I have heard too many bad reviews and its nightmare North American box office, which could put both Johnny and Angie’s fame in shame (including the ridiculous Golden Globe nominations). Plus it is a remake and I happened to watch its original French version ANTHOY ZIMMER (2005) many years ago, which was not so marvelous either (but I do remember the final twist). Therefore while harboring an expectation to be thoroughly disappointed, unexpectedly it turned out to be very entertaining both to me and my partner, maybe a part of the merit should be owe to the cinema’s comfortable VIP room.

There is no glint between this so-called the-most-sexy-man-and-woman-on-earth-pair and the evidence is certain, which has damaged the hearts of numerous fervent fans, however I gonna appraise Johnny Depp’s low-key performance despite world condemnation. The ordinary-joe setting of his identity does splatter comforting senses to the spectators and surprisingly makes me feel more authentic towards his character. As for Angelina Jolie, this time there is no need of embodying herself as superwoman SALT, dressing elegant and talking seductive is her only task (it’s just a piece of cake!).

My sole regret is to Mr. Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, he did his best to make the film watchable and joyful, but it just shouldn’t been his job, please go back to Germany and use the money earned from Hollywood to fully wield your talent and make us another opus like THE LIVES OF OTHERS (2006).

Also I think the genre classification should take the blame since if one doesn’t look for an action thriller, this romantic-hauled comedy could be quite pleasing, and after all how could one doesn’t fall in love with Venice after watching this film? I promise myself, next time I go to Italy, Venice will be my must-see.

3 thoughts on “[Last Time I Saw] The Tourist (2010)

  1. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Maleficent (2014) [6/10] | Cinema Omnivore

  2. Pingback: [Last Time I Saw] Red (2010) [6/10] | Cinema Omnivore

  3. Pingback: [Last Time I Saw] RED (2010) | Cinema Omnivore

Leave a Reply

