[Last Time I Saw] How To Train Your Dragon (2010)

Title: How To Train Your Dragon
Year: 2010
Country: USA
Language: English
Genre: Animation
Directors: Dean DeBlois, Chris Sanders
Writers: William Davies, Dean DeBlois, Chris Sanders
Music: John Powell
Cast:
Jay Baruchel
Gerard Butler
Craig Ferguson
America Ferrera
Jonah Hill
Christopher Mintz-Plasse
Kristen Wiig
David Tennant
Rating: 8.2/10

 It’s a huge pity that I didn’t watch this cute animated film on 3D, otherwise there would be a big possibility that I might give it a higher rating. After many years of the predominance by Disney-Pixar, this time Dreamworks strikes back to overthrow its throne, however, as I haven’t seen TOY STORY 3 (2010) yet (It might be hard to believe, I haven’t watched any of TOY STORY franchise), I cannot judge if HTTYD could win the BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM over from TS3 in the coming OSCAR, yet I will feel very much pleased if it happens.

 Without a raft of vulgar jokes, the film takes a firm stand to satisfy both children and adult demography with a meaningful storyline and some eye-dropping special effects. The designs of different kinds of adorable dragons can easily catch kids’ heart, and the clever move of nerd-become-hero plot is ace in the hole to attract older youngsters, moreover, the excellent mouth-to-mouth reputation does surely allure a much wider audience range.

The score is another great achievement, perfectly connects with the whole film and add more relish to it, which has earned the film another nomination this year. As for the cast, Jay Baruchel sounds much better in a cartoon than any other films he has made, Gerard Butler’s strange accent makes up for his slightly boring character as our protagonist’s Viking father.

If I must pick some bones, I would say as much fun as I am getting from the film, the secondary characters fail to shine, all other kids didn’t endow me with any vivid impressions even though they are voice-casted by Jonah Hill and Christopher Mintz-Plasse.

The film set another criterion to the up-coming animated features from all Hollywood film studios, I just pray that imagination will never die.

4 thoughts on “[Last Time I Saw] How To Train Your Dragon (2010)

  1. May I just say what a help to find someone who definitely realizes just what they are discussing on the web. You actually know how to bring a difficulty to light and allow it to essential. More people should study this and understand this particular section of the story. I cannot believe you aren’t more popular because you clearly have the gift.

  2. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] 22 Jump Street (2014) [6/10] | Cinema Omnivore

  3. Pingback: [Last Time I Saw] Despicable Me (2010) [7/10] | Cinema Omnivore

Leave a Reply

