[Last Film I Saw] If I Were You (2001)

If I Were You 2001

English Title: If I Were You
Original Title: Se fossi in te
Country: Italy
Year: 2001
Language: Italian
Genre: Comedy
Director: Giulio Manfredonia
Writers:
Valentina Capecci
Giulio Manfredonia
Marco Ponti
Anna Maria Morelli
Music: Aldo De Scalzi, Pivio
Cinematography: Gino Sgreva
Cast:
Fabio De Luigi
Gioele Dix
Emilio Solfrizzi
Paola Cortellesi
Lunetta Savino
Manuela Ungaro
Alberto Bognanni
Bob Messini
Rating: 5.7/10

This is an Italian identity-swapping film from 10 years ago, which emanates that this comedic sub-genre never cease, popping up into my mind is the most recent Hollywood one called THE CHANGE-UP (2011), stars Ryan Reynolds and Jason Batesman. But this Italian one is a quantitatively upgraded version as it mingles with 3 persons’ turmoils of their lives, and interweaving with 3 females whom they cannot eschew from their pristine life.

I have some trouble understanding the dialogues since there was not subtitles for it and my Italian level is still on the verge of B1 (which is thought-provoking by stark contrast with a Chinese film, in which most of them are too taciturn to let languages steal the thunder). Thus please forgive me if my review could be a trifle partisan. The film itself is merely satisfying and entertaining in a foreseeable scale, the performance is sterile but benevolent, three male leaders, Fabio De Luigi, Gioele Dix and Emilio Solfrizzi carries their characters with ease and a hackneyed happy-ending is implausibly welcome.

A petty mention, the sci-fi fraction (the process of changing identities), which literally lasts only 10 seconds maximum, is trahy and deceitfully naive. Anyway, it one has to fuss about that, he must be a helpless perfectionist, whom I don’t mean to be in any circumstances.

This film is director/writer Giulio Manfredonia’s debut feature film, whose later work SI PUO’ FARE (2008) had been selected as a contestant in The 12th Shanghai Film Festival in 2009, which I feel more intrigued to watch (in spite of the fact that I generally distrust the festival’s quality).

2 thoughts on “[Last Film I Saw] If I Were You (2001)

  1. This is the correct weblog for anyone who wants to search out out about this topic. You notice a lot its nearly laborious to argue with you (not that I truly would want?HaHa). You definitely put a brand new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, simply great!

Leave a Reply

