[Last Film I Saw] Kick-Ass (2010)

wpid-kick-ass_e58ab2e68faae4bea0201011-2011-12-1-14-56.jpg

Title: Kick-Ass
Year: 2010
Language: English
Country: USA
Genre: Action, Adventure
Director: Matthew Vaughn
Writers:
Jane Goldman
Matthew Vaughn
Mark Millar
John Romita Jr.
Music: Marius De Vries, Ilan Esher, Henry Jackman, John Murphy
Cinematography: Ben Davis
Cast:
Aaron Johnson
Chloë Grace Moretz
Mark Strong
Nicolas Cage
Christopher Mintz-Plasse
Lyndsy Fonseca
Clark Duke
Evan Peters
Deborah Twiss
Sophie Wu
Stu Riley
Elizabeth McGovern
Garrett M. Brown
Dexter Fletcher
Michael Rispoli
Tamer Hassan
Hubert Boorder
Xander Berkeley
Omari Hardwick
Rating: 8.5/10

I saw half of the film on HBO several months ago in the hotel room and it became another unfinished business which had been gnawing at me until yesterday I eventually watched it from A to Z, and my response is that it’s really a kick-ass to all other major film studio comic superhero franchises!

I don’t intend to put a stance to appreciate this film just to feign that my heart is still as young as a schoolboy. I love this film from the bottom of my heart and I emphatically believe director Matthew Vaugh has done a stupendous job which almost alter the entire formula of the corny genre and what’s more worth a round of standing ovation is that the film is killingly entertaining as well!

Hit-girl is predestined to become a cult idol along with the film itself (and its box office fiasco is a bonus), the controversy she created has becoming a sensational impressiveness which stuns the youngster generation and some maturer age group like mine. A 12 year old slaughterer with an innocent loli’s face and mind, which may not be original but definitive provocative, and the gratifying yet unsettling part is Chloë’s steadfast-cum-innocuous performance, killing only could be such fun in a morally nontoxic way which a film is able to manifest and I can sense the surreal zest pervading in the air!

Kick-ass (an unostentatious Aaron Johnson) by comparison, is a more empathizing character, which is also dealt with some realistic impetus to allow viewers to judge it by a more rational afterthought, a true hero never need the shield of “super” power, all one needs is training and proper equipment, a pragmatic truth (it’s more convenient if you are as filthy rich as Iron Man or Batman).

The film and the directing definitely crack into my top 10 list of the year and Chloë is among my top 3 supporting actress in 2010 as well. Also I feel a bit belated compassion that Matthew Vaugh’s forte didn’t been fully brought into play in the X-MEN: FIRST CLASS this year as sadly few could substantiate his true color under the mainstream Hollywood sway, especially for those newly-recruited.

Oscar 2010 - Kick-Ass

6 thoughts on “[Last Film I Saw] Kick-Ass (2010)

  1. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] X-Men: First Class « A Breathless Trail

  2. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Super 8 « A Breathless Trail

  3. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Let Me In « A Breathless Trail

  4. Pingback: [Last Film I Saw] Super 8 (2011) [7/10] | Cinema Omnivore

  5. Pingback: [Last Film I Watch] Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014) [8/10] | Cinema Omnivore

  6. Pingback: [Last Film I Watched] Nocturnal Animals (2016) | Cinema Omnivore

Leave a Reply

